• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Problems setting the CLASSPATH for my servlets

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Good Afternoon;

I am a newbie trying to figure out how to simply get my first servlet to run. The servlet is name "HelloServlet."

The first initial test that I am running is a "Servlet That Does Not Use Packages." When I compile the file for the command prompt and use the URL localhost:1979/servlet/HelloServlet, I get an error message of stating that the requested resource (/servlet/HelloServlet) is not available.

I have checked my CLASSPATH, but I am not sure it setup correctly. All of my HTML and JSP files are working with my server except for the one servlet. I have been working on this since 7:00 a.m. this morning and now is 1:00 p.m. I am exhausted and hoping that someone has an answer as to what I am doing wrong in setting up my environment.

In addition, I keeping thinking that my web.xml file in the C:\tomcat\webapps\ROOT\WEB-INF needs to be modified. I have already followed the installation instructions and have uncommented the web.xml located in C:\tomcat\conf and made to servlet and servlet mapping.