• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Help needed on best structure to use.

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all

I'm a complete Java newbie coming from Python.

I would like advice please on a suitable structure to model the following situation.

A 'Box' contains an unlimited number of named 'Envelopes'.
Each 'Envelope' contains an unlimited number of 'RecordCards.
Each 'RecordCard' has a limited number (5) of DataItems.

Requirements.
A Box will be able to add and remove Envelopes.
An Envelope will be able to add and remove RecordCards
RecordCards will be able to change data held in the data items.
Data can be accessed using [Evelope][RecordCard][DataItems]
The Box can be serialized for persistence.

This is easily done in Python using Lists (which can hold mixed types) and the pickle methods for serialization but I would like to do it in Java for easy cross-platform distribution.

Any guidance would be very welcome

Thanks in advance

John

lowercase baba
Chrome Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I don't understand why you would want a list to hold different things. A box only holds one thing - envelopes.

Envelopes only hold one thing - recordCards.