• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Ruby on Rails or the joy of instant feedback.

Ranch Hand
Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator

I wrote a longer entry on my blog (http://lonelywolfsden.blogspot.com/2010/12/ruby-on-rails-or-beauty-of-instant.html) but as a Java developer I am positively impressed with the possibilities opened by Ruby on Rails.
I was trying to implement a complicated GWT +MAVEN + GAE application for a month and got lost in some configuration details. . so I just left the project in pieces on my SVN folder. A week before I had installed the sample depot application of Rails in Netbeans. Saturday morning I had started to create a new RoR application.
After just 24h I had managed to get something working and using it (personal pet project).
The key features of RoR for me :
1) Scaffolding
2) Instant feedback ( according to http://www.zeroturnaround.com/blog/java-ee-container-redeploy-restart-turnaround-report/ we loose 25% of our time just compiling and deploying ) which I think is crucial these days.
As an ex-PHP programmer I can say that Ruby(on Rails) has the power of Java (and the good software engineering approach) with the instant developer feedback of PHP (interpreted language development).