• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

FORM based authentication problem

Saloon Keeper
Android Eclipse IDE Tomcat Server Redhat Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
OK, it's my turn! I've been working with FORM-based authentication since about 2000 on Windows, Linux, Solaris and maybe even the odd IBM iSeries. No problems. Until now.

I have one (and only one) server at a particular hosting provider that is positively off the wall. When I access a secured resource, it doesn't present the login form. Instead it pops up a Dialog, meaning it's attempting BASIC instead of FORM. It does authenticate - only valid user IDs and passwords are accepted. However, it doesn't honor security roles!

We upgraded the OS, I installed a fresh copy of Tomcat and the latest Sun, er, Oracle JVM. No change. I switched the proxy off Apache, set up a firewall redirect from port 443 to 8443 to compensate, verified that 443 wasn't being listened to and 8443 belonged to Tomcat. Checked the 8443 Connector parameters. All good.