• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Having "Cannot find symbol" and "Class, Interface, Enum Expected" Errors still

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Greetings,

I am new to Java SE. In my previous CompSci experience I used Python. I have writing a program currently that requires my to calculate a GPA given the user's input for Grades in 5 classes. On top of this, I must calculate and print if their GPA is sufficient enough to award them making the President's List, Dean's List, or Academic Probation.

I am not allowed to use a loop to ask the User to input their class/grade 5 times, so I am unsure how to ask the user for their inputs without a loop. Also, I must include the line of code: "private static double gpaPts(String grade) {" and am unsure where to include this, much-less what its function is.

I am having issues in lines 34-59 with "Cannot find symbol, identifier expected, and Illegal start of type." I know this is alot wrong, but any help at all would help me on my way to writing this program fully. If any more details are required, please do ask. I am new to programming and don't always know how much is needed to fix something.

Thanks!

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Lucas Stelljes wrote:

Hi Lucas,
Welcome to coderanch.