• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

<to-view-id> Element

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello,

I am new to JSF and trying to learn. I researched this but I was not able to find any solution. It is possible that I am trying to do something that is not possible.

Here is what I am trying to do:

I am trying a simple test to see how navigation works. I was able to a navigate to JSP page using navigation rule with no problem. I now wanted to see if I can navigate to a servlet so I changed <to-view-id> element to point to a servlet rather than a JSP. First of all can I even do that? I would think that this should be possible as JSP is compiled into a servlet. However all tutorials and examples so reference for <to-view-id> to a JSP or xhtml files.

Below is a snippet of my faces-config.xml and web.xml. When I access the address http://localhost:8080/adminTool/faces/saveServlet, the servlet loads fine. However when I click on a button on http://localhost:8080/adminTool/faces/test.jsp, I get the message:

type Status report

message/saveServlet not found

descriptionThe requested resource (/saveServlet not found) is not available.

Any help in the matter will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

faces-config.xml

<navigation-rule>
<from-view-id>test.jsp</from-view-id>