• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

run more mains in Java

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi gus,

this in my first post, and I am a total beginner.
I have done a project for a uni exam in java, but it has to be fixed in some points, so here I am to solve a little problem.
I have more objects with main: there is the Boss {main()}, to be run once, and there are the Servants{main()}
to be run more times as the number of servants required.
The point is that I don't know how to make a smart start-up. I mean, I can do either a batch script (but I don't know how to write it yet)
either run the Boss, and then run the Servants one after the other, asking the Boss every time the own id. Or maybe there is another way less cumbersome, in this case please give me a clue!

Thanks a lot for your attention,

maribo

Rancher
Android Eclipse IDE Ubuntu
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Why not make a Master class that calls the main() methods on the other parts? that method is just a method after all.

mari bo
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thank you David for your reply,

I 've just tried, but it works fine for the Boss.main() (I can see the output on the console), but I can't see the servants works, because no one of the output(like, "i am alive!) comes out.