• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Abstract Method

Greenhorn
Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hai all,

I am new to java. What is the use of "Abstract Methods", Since we are defining that method in the subclasses,What is the meaning in making it abstract and keeping it in the abstract superclass?
for example:

abstract class A {
abstract void callme(); //line2}

class B extends A {
void callme() {
System.out.println("B's implementation of callme."); // since anyhow we are defining the method here what is the purpose of line2}
}

class AbstractDemo {
public static void main(String args[]) {
B b = new B();
b.callme();
b.callmetoo();
}
}

Please help me in this.I know that even a small thing in java is written with some specific purpose. I am unable to understand the purpose of that abstract class.

Thanks in advance,
Santosh Kumar N.

Sheriff
Eclipse IDE Spring VI Editor Chrome Java Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to the Ranch!