• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Is it possible to Integrate Swing with Struts2?

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE Tomcat Server Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi All,
I'm a newbie to web technologies , and am currently in the development of Struts 2 application , however I would like to use Swing to implement the view layer in my web -app . I did do some reading and came to understand that its not seamlessly possible , however i did come across this link which suggests a possibility of integration , it would be great if anyone could help me in this regard
The link that indicates the possibility of a struts - swing integration is -
http://javaboutique.internet.com/tutorials/Swing/

I'm planning to use the swing support to improve the GUI and put in features like tabbed panes et al.

It would be great if anyone could suggest an alternative to using swing support (im not interested in applets due to the long upload / download times , which would render my web-app useless)

Any advice would be appreciated
Thanks in advance.

Bartender
Mac OS X Linux Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
It's possible, but I don't think it is a good idea. First, you will either need an applet or application to host the Swing components which you say you don't want.