• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

this problem baffles me

Greenhorn
Firefox Browser Windows XP Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
okay, so i'm just learning to program, and in class, we're working with arrays. however, i'm having a hard time with them in general, and now i'm having a weird program issue.

here is the first part of the assignment.

Write a Java program that does the following:

The file [scoreA] contains a sequence of floating-point numbers, each 0–100, representing how students fared in a class. There are no more than 100 grades in the file. The sentinel that signals the end of the values is -999.

1. Read the scores into an array.
2. Count those scores in “bins”, representing letter grades (A: ≥90, B: ≥80, C: ≥70, D: ≥60, F: <60).
3. Print how many students received each grade, e.g.

A: 4
B: 6
C: 5
D: 1
F: 0