• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Application design in Struts

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi All!

I'm fairly new to Struts. I've read probably just enough to get an app going. I've been writing a database driven application. I am not trying to rag on Struts, but I would like to learn good design.

I have a model that connects, queries, and returns data in the form of beans to the controller. Then from the controller I copy the data into a form or just pass it into the view as an attribute. The problem is there is very little application logic. Maybe some code to update the database. I can pretty much just copy the model code over and over. "Connect, Query, Return" or "Connect, Update", etc. It's quite a bit of work to do something so simple. It is becoming very tedious.

Am I doing something wrong? Am I missing something?

Are there good sample code out there demonstrating a "real life" type application?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator