• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

How do I use my functioning Java?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm very new to Java, so please excuse my obvious ignorance. I'm trying to make a silent login work to a particular website. The company has given me sample Java code, and the encryption key. I hard coded the encryption key into the code, along with my username, for testing. I compiled the code with javac from the command line. When I run the Java class from the command line, it outputs a long url string. If I copy that to my browser address bar, it works. What I need help with, is placing a link somewhere on a web page that will call this Java class and make it work. The code finishes out with a "System.out.println" and that works from a command line. But I can't make sense of this. Any help or assistance would be greatly appreciated. Below is the .java code that works.

Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to the Ranch

What happens is you set up a user name "jdoe" number "1234", etc. (line 13-25) and Strings with the date in eg "2011-05-14T12:34:56GMT" or something similar (line 26-35).