• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

File Deletion, and problems with overwriting instead of adding to file.

Greenhorn
Eclipse IDE Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hey guys, I was gonna put this in the I/O forum, but because i'm pretty new to Java I figured this might actually just be a rookie mistake i'm making and be better suited here, either way, I would really appreciate some help on this:

I am currently writing an IRC bot, originally just for practicing and learning Java, but I am now adding more and more complex functions to it every day, however this latest idea of mine seems to have led me to a brick wall, I was troubleshooting this on my own for four hours last night and it feels like <- that.

The function I am adding is a way to send offline messages to people via a '.pm username: message' command, when you send the command the bot writes a load of stuff to an external .txt, and in my onJoin() method it searches that .txt file for the person who has joined, and if they have been sent a message, will inform them they have new messages. The person then types '.get' and the message is queried to them.

All of this, so far, works, but with the following issues, that I guess I am too inexperienced to work out: