• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

not getting how exactly spring Depedency Injection works.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
hi all,
i am new to spring and going through Pro Spring 2.5 book.
but after studying the dependency injection topic i got a confusion. here it goes.
suppose i have a Car object which depends on a Tyre object. Tyre object has one property called radiusOfTyre. so both the classes look like this.

now my question is that for different different Car object Tyre can be different. according to spring dependency injection we can inject Tyre object to Car object directly using following configuration :

in the above scenario if we get a Car bean then we will get a Tyre bean already injected but the Tyre bean will not have any value assigned for radiusOfTyre. then what is the use of injecting a bean which doesn't have value for its property?
if we initialize the value of radiusOfTyre in the xml file itself using setter injection then it will be hard coded value and whenever we get a Car bean we will get the same Tyre bean with same radius everytime which is not feasible.

i know my question is little long but i don't have any other way to explain it.

thanks,
praz

ranger
Mac IntelliJ IDE Spring
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies