• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Keyboard input using "import java.io.*;" OR "import java.util.scanner;"

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm not even a Noob. I'm Pre-Noob. I have some limited previous knowledge of C++ that I've practically forgotten. A hack of the worst kind, I can't get far reading instructional books before I rip my hair out. The best way for me is to get the basic syntax down and just dive in doing some coding. When I hit a snag, I go to the net and fish for awhile, hit a book or two, find my answer and then push on again until my next snag.

Incredibly foolish Noob question #1

netbeans can't seem to find any of the packages (I think they are called) that I need for simple keyboard input. I get a squiggly red line under the "i" in the first line of a code that I copy/pasted from the net: "import java.io.*;" Same squiggly under the "i" for: "import java.util.Scanner;". Both won't compile or run.

A couple days ago I DL'd the latest JDK/Netbeans bundle from sun/oracle. I'm thinking that there is maybe a supplemental library of these so-called "packages" that I need? But I've poked around the sun/oracle DL site and it ain't jumpin' out at me.

I'm tryin' to find the easiest way to simply read in information from keyboard input.