• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Validating the file path using regex

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all,

I am new to regex and need some help.
I have a file path and file name in a String. This file path and file name are accessed from a Windows machine as well as Mac machine. So, when created via the Mac machine, file path and file name can have special characters like * @ $ ? etc., but that gives trouble to my code running on Windows machine. So, I would like to write a piece of code that checks for the presence of special characters (pretty much everything other than a-z, A-Z, 0-9, _, -) in the file path or file name; and accordingly perform rest of the activities.

The part where I seek your help is writing the regex expression:
Point to note: The filePath is the path of the file plus the file name and extension. Example: \\prod1\customer1\title1\myFile.jpg
And it can be any level deeper, so I have to validate the whole path and the file name.

According to my understanding, below will be the code to perform the above:

As I mentioned, I am new to regex, if there is any mistake in my regex code, please point that out too.

Thanks much!

Sheriff
Eclipse IDE Spring VI Editor Chrome Java Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies