• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Ant and "automatic build" of Eclipse

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE PHP Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi friends,
I'm new with Ant.

I use Eclipse as IDE and so far, when I save my .java file, Eclipse compiles it automatically.
Now I'm starting to use Ant and I read everywhere to create a task to compile my java files, but I think it's unnecessary in my case.
I think it's useful only when someone doesn't use the "automatic build" during the development.

Can you confirm that?

P.S.
Are there some cases where is better to disable the automatic build of Eclipse and use Ant?

Thanks
Karim

author & internet detective
Eclipse IDE VI Editor Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Karim,
If you want the auto build to do something that you can't do in an Eclipse builder. Or if some of the team is using Eclipse and some of the team is using another IDE.

Saloon Keeper
Android Eclipse IDE Tomcat Server Redhat Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
The Eclipse builders can do basic project build stuff, but not really complex things like constructing a WAR. And, although technically you could gimmick up a set of custom builders to do so, it's a lot easier just to let Ant or Maven do that kind of work.