• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Struts 2 and passing data using interceptors

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi. I'm new to Struts and have a question regarding how data is passed from an Action (in Struts 2) to the JSP which one is redirected to after the action is executed. Reading the documentation on Struts 2, I've found that using the Scope Interceptor one can specify Action properties to be bound to the session or application scope. This is configured in struts.xml with the <interceptor-ref name="scope"> tag and then setting the appropriate parameters. See http://www.twdata.org/backups/WW/scope-interceptor.html

Now, say I access an EJB from an Action. The method of the EJB returns some data. Is it good programming practice (in Struts) to store this data in the session object, later to be accessed from a JSP? This should allow me to pass the data, but perhaps there is some other alternative which is preferred. Storing information in the session object would maybe be good practice for data such as user id, contents of a shopping cart, etc. The scope I believe I am interested in is request scope, since the data returned from the invoked EJB method is data from an Amazon.com search, only to be used in the JSP displayed immediately after the execution of the Action.