• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

JSF Url Mapping (Newbie)

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all,

I am still a newbie to JSF. I used IBM RAD to create a sample JSF application for me. It is basically a page that fetches some data from the db and displays it. What RAD generated for me was a .xhtml file with a datatable to show the contents of the data, a faces.config xml file and web.xml. The web.xml of course had the following...

And faces.config.xml had following...

AdviceDetailManager is like a JPA DAO which has the JPA code to fetch the data. And my xhtml page is "advice_inquiry.xhtml". My question is when I call the URL "http://localhost:9080/AdvisingWeb/advice_inquiry.faces", how does Faces Servlet know to find AdviceDetailManager to get it the data it needs. The URL mapping in JSF does not seem so straighforward as Struts.

Thanks for any help.

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
When in you page you call a method like: adviceDetailManager.yourMethod the JSF will know which class to find this method.

I believe it is easier than Struts.

You just need to map the class. [=

Saloon Keeper
Android Eclipse IDE Tomcat Server Redhat Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies