• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

What program should I use ?

Greenhorn
Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
So I am probably going to start a bachelor in computer science and ofcourse I will be programming a lot. Since I am REALLY new to programming I was wondering wich method would be prefered ?

If I use a program like ecplise it corrects a lot of stuff for me like indentation, brackets and stuff. I can imagine if I have exams in college we only get to use a really simple notepad without these features ?

How should I aproach this ? Should I just use N++ and turn of every help functionality the progam gives me (if that is even possible?) ?

Bartender
IntelliJ IDE Oracle Spring Chrome Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
There have been a lot of discussions before regarding the use or abuse of IDEs. I think you will find a lot of them if you search in the forum.

Java Cowboy
Android Scala IntelliJ IDE Spring Java
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies