• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

"javax.crypto.BadPaddingException: pad block corrupted" using BouncyCastle and DESede: How to avoid?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi everybody:

I'm not an expert about security, but I found me maintaning a code which basically uses strong security and relies on BouncyCastle as provider. Code encrypts using DESede (3DES in EDE Mode), sends over FTP and receives trying to decrypt without success. the client making the encryption process lives at one Sun JVM 1.6, while server which decrypts is using an IBM JVM 1.6. No other JVM (No JVM provided by Sun) is suitable for this server cause its hardware architecture.

Key is generated and then used for encryption, later send encrypted with RSA algorythm to the server, which receives the key and tries to decrypt another file also sent to the server, which was encrypted using that key. When send unencrypted, key do decryption with success, when key is sent encrypted and later decrypted, code fails by throwing an exception: "javax.crypto.BadPaddingException: pad block corrupted.". Key with using RSA algorythm seems to be succesfully decrypted, but fails for decryption when used.

There are two paths I'm following for achieve my goal: