• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Help with drawing objects on panel

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi, I am new to coderanch, obviously from my number of posts, eh? Quick intro: I am having trouble getting java stuck in my head, and then as soon as it seems like I have it figured out, it doesn't work. I have to say I am very glad to find a site that tolerates noobs and has people willing to help! I do the same thing on another forum helping people with marine electronics installation and repair (I assume I shouldn't post links). I am currently working on an AAS networking degree and CCNA. This is my first time with java, and the last time I programmed was in C, and a lot of years ago.

And, off to the important stuff. I need help figuring out why my draw method is not working correctly. This is the skyline programming project out of the Lewis/Loftus Java book (with a couple instructor twists). We are only beginning, so we do not have anything much more complicated to work with than what you see. This project is pressing the point of creating objects, and then having the objects draw themselves on the panel. There is some extra stuff going on, like windows randomly generating their own colors, and a bunch of mutators that aren't being used right now.