• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

To Python or not to Python?

Greenhorn
Ruby Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm a Python newbie... much more than newbie... I've just downloaded from my corporate account one introductory book on Python and I'm just reading the first chapter so... I'm probably The newbie.

Anyway. My question: why should I choose Python instead of Java or Ruby or something else?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I hope this link helps:http://pythonconquerstheuniverse.wordpress.com/2009/10/03/python-java-a-side-by-side-comparison/

Marco Bresciani
Greenhorn
Ruby Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I've always though Java is not the best kid on the block but since it's ("it is", or "it was", as you wish to read) popular, my university taught that and also it's a bit more easier to find a Java-related job. Anyway, since my post on this topic, I've read a bit, checking features and some general things on Python, JavaScript, PERL and Ruby and I've started studying Ruby with its peculiarities... and it seems very nice! Also, forced indenting (even if very nice!) is a bit too forced, for me... at least at the moment.
Thanks for the link.

Bartender
Mac OS X Python
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
You shouldn't,