• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

<h:commandLink> rendered not updating on logout

Greenhorn
MySQL Database Flex
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello,

I'm still new to JSF so I'm looking for any advice I can get. I have a problem updating my JSF components rendered attribute. Here is my code:

index.xhtml

MenuBean.java

faces-config.xml

I can login and logout just fine but the problem is that when I logout and get sent back to my index page, I can still see my logout button that shouldn't be rendered anymore. This goes away after clicking through another link so I thought that using redirect should work but to no avail.

Any tips will be much appreciated.
Thanks!
Calvin

Saloon Keeper
Android Eclipse IDE Tomcat Server Redhat Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Well, for one thing, "rendered="#{menuBean.loginStatus()}"" is incorrect.

It should be "rendered="#{menuBean.loginStatus}"", where the menuBean should present a public method named "isLoginStatus()" that returns true when logged in and false when not logged in.

Calvin Hughes
Greenhorn
MySQL Database Flex
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies