• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Head First BeerSelect problems

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello this is my first post so if I mess up please correct me; I am here to learn. A little back story I am a student. I have passed XHTML with css (Head First book) but my Java is very limited, one class using the alice software
and the current semester we are using the Head First Java and the Head First Servlet/JSP books simultaneously and all our work has been done in either Eclipse or Netbeans and we installed Tomcat 7.0 and jdk7
when I point the browser(not the internal eclipse one) at localhost:8080/Beer-v1form.html when I click the submit I get a 404 The requested resource (/Beer-v1/SelectBeer.do) is not available. before I posted I went through your classpath and moosegreeting tutorials I got it to compile and run. I should note that I tried to run my program with all the files just in eclipse but it couldn't find anything so I built the file structure in tomcat the book says and copied the files to there now I get the the previously mentioned 404. I feel more comfortable with Eclipse and have never used command line for much but I am willing to learn the right way to do this I get the impression that what the instructor is having us do is not a best practice