• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

red squiggly lines under scriptlets in Eclipse

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi, I'm just learning to write java. My background is front-end dev. I'm practicising creating a .jsp page. In Eclipse, there are red squiggly lines underneath this code:

When I click the red square in the "Error" block (on the right side of the code editor), I get this explanation:

Multiple annotations found at this line:
- Processing instructions not closed
- End tag of element <p>

Here is the full code:

Would someone tell me why I am getting the squiggly lines and how to fix? I have closed the tags and the code runs in the browser, but there must be something wrong, right?

Thanks!

Sheriff
Mac Mac OS X IntelliJ IDE jQuery TypeScript Java iOS
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Please be sure to ask IDE questions in the IEDs forum. I have moved this post there for you.

Bear Bibeault
Sheriff
Mac Mac OS X IntelliJ IDE jQuery TypeScript Java iOS
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
If you are just starting out you should know right off the bat that using scriptlets as you have in that code is something that's 10 years out of date. You must be using a really old tutorial or book.

Modern JSP uses the JSTL and EL, not Java code in the page.

Chris Disilva