• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Beginning a career with Spring

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I got an OCJP 1.6 certificate and i am not an IT engineer. I want to learn spring. Can someone suggest how to go about it?
I want to prepare for spring certification, but i am having a tough time in finding a head-first type of book for it. Other books and internet tutorials are too complicated and confusing, especially the ones from the spring website and roseindia.
How do i begin?
How much time does it take to prepare for spring certification ?
Where can i get guidance ?
How do i get good projects to apply my knowledge of spring once i learn something ?

Bartender
Scala Python Oracle Postgres Database Linux
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I've been looking at the Spring Certification as well, but I haven't seen any books specifically for the exam. There are lots of good books about Spring though e.g. Pro Spring, or Spring Recipes (sounds like a seasonal cookery book!), although I haven't seen any "Headfirst" style books yet.

Bear in mind that you need to do the Core Spring training course from Spring, as well as the exam, in order to qualify for the certificate: http://www.springsource.com/training/certification/springprofessional

Ashish S Yadav
Ranch Hand