• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Doubt about digital certificates and signatures

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Good morning everyone,

I have no experience with digital certificates and signatures, but, currently being the only java programmer on my company, my boss asked me to handle an update on a project.

This project is already up and working fine today. It was made in Java 1.6.23 and runs on a Tomcat 6 environment. It uses a certificate to comunicate with a Web Service from another project (this other one not made buy us, it's a partner company).

It currently has two files (both inside the .war file, in WEB-INF/classes folder):

- truststore.jks
- ws.tnt.com.pfx

In the code, the certificate is passed using this configuration:

Ok, as I said, all this is working just fine today. But, the certificate will expire in one week, and I was requested to update the application to use the new one. My manager made the new contract with the Web Service company, then he send he me two files (our partner created these files):

tnt.cer: Said to be the "new certificate"
ws.tnt.com.key: Said to be the private key with password (is the same of the old one, as I was told).

Well, I know I can import the ".cer" file with keytool, just like this: