• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

creating a weather forecast page

Bartender
jQuery Netbeans IDE Eclipse IDE Firefox Browser MySQL Database Chrome Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm a complete newbie to web services, but I want to create a page with the current weather and forecast using the service provided here. I have no idea how to get started and Google is not helping me. I've seen the various Javascript gadgets from weather.com and so on, but that's not what I'm looking for. This is a page that will be displayed on a 47" monitor in kiosk mode so I have to build it from scratch.

Can someone please direct me to a tutorial or other reading that will help me get started on using this web service and parsing the resulting XML file in a way that I can use it?

BTW, if there is a better web service for weather, please let me know. I'd like to find one that provides severe weather alerts in addition to current conditions and forecasts.

Ranch Hand
IBM DB2 Chrome Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies