• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

GUI vs non-GUI software

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm very new to programming so please excuse the likely naivete of this question.

Back in the old days there were punch cards and "DOS-type" (typing lots of mysterious commands onto a dark screen) interfacing with computers. I am guessing that, these days, most programs designed to be used by people on a regular basis primarily use a GUI (possiblity of a completely wrong assumption here, I am aware). Is there, and if so, how much software is being written these days that doesn't use a GUI but is still intended to be interfaced on a regular basis by a human user? Also, what might be the benefits of using non-GUI programs by regular users.

I can imagine there is (or might be) a lot of software written in the world that has little interaction with a human user. This type of software isn't what I'm talking about, though.

lowercase baba
Chrome Java Linux
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I use a command line every day at my job.