• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Setter based vs. Constructor based injection

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi

I'm new to Spring and worked with plain Java objects where I used to make objects immutable (final fields) where made sense.
For Spring it seems that setters are preferred over constructor injection even for immutable objects.
I read in some places that this is for historical reasons regarding compatibility with EJB v2.x.

So my questions:

* is it okay to use constructor injection or should I stick to setters?
* is there a caveat using constructor injection vs. setters?

Thanks a lot,

author & internet detective
Eclipse IDE VI Editor Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
This article explains why Spring originally pushed setter injection (back in 2003.) Here is the most relevant paragraph: