• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

How to create dropdown fetching data from database?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

I am new to struts and coderanch as well. I got a problem and I am not getting any way out. Please help me.

I want to create a JSP file which will show a drop-down list fetching data from database (I am using it in struts 1.3). For example I want to show list of countries in a drop-down. Now I can do that by putting all the logic for connecting to the database, fetching the resultset, iterate over resultset to show the dropdown. But I don't really want to put any such coding inside my JSP.

I have heard of DAO, DTO, and I have studied on it. But I have no clue how it can help me. Please help me. If possible, please provide me an example.

Thanks,
Kartic

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Kartic,

You can take example of this tutorial drop down and try to implement it with database. Though if you face any difficulties let us know we will help you.

Regards
Jatan

kartic sahoo
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Jatan,