• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Reading, Comparing and Updating Text files

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi, I hope someone can give me some valuable pointers.
I am new to Java and still struggling to get my head around some/most concepts
I have been provided with two text files, one is a league table of football teams and their current points which I have stored into two separate arrays - teams and points
The second text file is a list of teams and their last results, however the results are in text form thus I have had to amend to include numeric values i.e 3, 1 or 0.
The task is to read the second text file and update the two arrays as appropriate
My thoughts are that I scan the text file firstly through the first array, to find out the teams current position in the league, when that position has been established I use that position to scan through the second array to find the points total at that element of the array and then update that points total with the numeric value in the string.
My problem is I dont know how to go about reading the string in the text file into the first array.