• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Array help

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hey there,

I'm in need of some assistance regarding comparing values from two arrays that are in separate class files.
I am writing a Lottery application (I am a student indeed!) and I have two arrays; one for the user inputted values, and one for the randomly generated winning numbers.
I must compare the two, and obviously, see if the user has won the lottery.

I believe I must use an accessor method for the user generated numbers to access an individual array index, and then search through the winning numbers and compare; however, what troubles me is accessing
the user generated numbers. What I think is correct is only producing "0".

Anyone have any ideas? I have searched the forum, but, it seems that it's rare to find others using separate class files so nothing applies.

Here is the code for the method:

Thank you!

Bartender
IntelliJ IDE Python Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I the code snippet you provided - what does line #2 do? What does it contain? What do you expect it to contain?

Then you have a variable names iNumber. What is its value at line #3? How does that value change by the time you get to line #5? How would that value change as the for loop progresses?