• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Please help with my program on Input/Output

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm having some trouble with this program. I'm new to the java programming language so I don't know much. Can someone help me?

The instructions are: To process the transactions, you will need to read one line at a time from the transactions.txt file and parse the String that you retrieve. You can use the Scanner class for this. The delimiter will be a colon. Then process the transaction; you do not need to check the type of transaction. Just add the amount of the transaction to the checkbook balance. Adding a negative transaction amount will decrease the balance as expected. Be sure to use try/catch blocks where appropriate.

After you have processed each transaction, call the animate method. This method belongs to the Accounting class, so you will call animate without using an object reference. The API if the animate method is the following

public void animate { String currentTransaction, double currentAmount, double currentBalance, }