• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Thread Problem In Text-Based Game

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I just started programming a text-based game the other day and I'm having issues figuring out how to deal with handling the user input. I've read a lot of tutorials on how to do this, but none were really what I had in mind. What I want my code to do is display the text in the window and then use some method to grab the user's input and deal with it from there. I thought a good way to do that would be to use threads, but I can't figure out how to use them and not get a massive deadlock that makes the program appear as though it didn't even start. I don't have much experience with threads, which is another reason why I wanted to use them (good learning experience), but I've been fiddling with this for hours and haven't gotten anywhere.

Here's what I've got:

Main method:

InputField:

ProcessInput:

Thanks for any help you might be able to give!

lowercase baba
Chrome Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies