• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Populate drop down list in JSP from .csv or xml. and which is the better way to do so.

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,
I am new to JSP/JSTL and was trying to build a page which have multiple drop down, whose results would eventually help me to make a connection to database and query accordingly to display the results. Earlier I, have added all the values of the drop down manually. But since the list may get longer over change of period, I wanted to auto populate it from either csv file or xml. But have not a very fair idea how can I proceed to do so.

Any help on this would be really great, and any learning curve on, which one is better to do so in a longer term, can also help me to get a good start.

Thanks!

Sheriff
Mac Mac OS X IntelliJ IDE jQuery TypeScript Java iOS
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Niharika Verma wrote:I wanted to auto populate it from either csv file or xml.

Why did you choose these particular formats? Neither is particularly well suited to the task.

Here are some alternatives that might be better approaches:
  • Store them in JSON files that can easily be read via Ajax.
  • Store them in the database and read them into application context with a context listener at app startup.