• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Losing my way with my career

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I've been a Java software developer for over three years now and in that time I've worked at 3 different companies. Not meaning to be big-headed, but I am a very capable developer and most recently had a large proportion of input into a project which should continue to generate profit for the company for years to come.

However I feel very disillusioned with the software industry. Here are just some of the issues I've come across:
- Wildly altering scope
- Awful decisions about requirements from VPs that don't have a clue - turning would-be innovative projects into disasters waiting to happen
- Way too much noise and bureaucracy meaning I spend less and less time coding (way less than 50%)
- No desire to allow employees to truly innovate or develop their careers (many companies pay 'lip service' to this only)
- Micromanagement of the 'important'/visible things to make sure managers in question 'look good'
- Managers who continually put themselves before their team members
- Disillusioned experienced developers that baby-sit legacy products and no desire to help/mentor new developers... which could be me in a few years if I stay...