• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Trees

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hey guys.I am new to java and I am abit confused.I am given an assignment to make a BTree.I read about BTrees and have an idea of what to do.But the problem comes when instead of creating a my new node class the instructor says I should create an integer objects.

This is the skeleton that I am given.My question is how would I make the Nodes.In java what is the difference between a parameter as "int" or "Integer".

Thanks.

booker jones
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Sorry I omitted some functions.How would the skeleton of your node be.

Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to the Ranch

Did the instructor say to use Integers or integers? They are different. I would suggest you start with ints, which are integers but only with a small i. Mainly because ints are easy to understand You can then later enhance your tree to take Integers, or even anything which is Comparable or which you can apply a Comparator to. You can read all about comparisons in the Java Tutorials. you end up with two constructors (or more), as in java.util.TreeSet.