• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Accessing External Resources from Applet

Greenhorn
Android Chrome Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

I am quite new to developing Applets in java. I recently made an applet that will play a particular sound whenever a button is pressed. The sound files are placed in the same directory as the applet class file and i access them by using .

The Applet runs fine in the appletviewer but whenever I try to open it using any browser like Chrome,IE,Firefox the applet loads but sound isn't played. I checked the java console and it showed "java.security.AccessControlException: access denied ".
My questions are:
1. How do I allow the applet to get access to those files?
2. When the Applet is running from the local file system why CAN NOT I access those resources via getCodeBase() ???
3. I googled and found that I can sign a JAR and that can have full access to the computer. But how do I create a JAR from an applet (which has no Main method) while it asks me to point to the main class in the manifest?

Thanks in advance.

P.S: I also found this Oracles's Java Security

Marshal
Eclipse IDE Firefox Browser MySQL Database
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Sam Kaydee wrote:1. How do I allow the applet to get access to those files?