• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Need advice in career path/job

Greenhorn
Eclipse IDE Java Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm new here. I need some advice guys. The languages I know are Java, PHP, a little bit of .NET, CSS, HTML, and JavaScript. I graduated a year ago with a Computer Science Degree without any work experience and internship. I like Java a lot, so I've been looking for a job in the programming field (JAVA area), but I haven't been able to find work. I applied for PHP developer. I was employed for like 2 months, then I got laid off from that company. Finding your first job is hard without work experience. It's been like 4 months since I got laid off and I'm getting a bit frustrated that I haven't been able to find work in my area. Should I just go with any kind of programming job right and gain the experience and then switch to Java? In the long run, I want to become a Java developer. How can I reach that goal in becoming a Java developer. Most Java jobs I've seen need Java EE, Spring, Hiberate, etc. Should I consider taking Java Certifications. I hope you guys understand my situation. What should I do?

author & internet detective
Eclipse IDE VI Editor Java
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Calvin,