• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Java vs Android

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Jeff,

I explored the contents of your book through the link available in this site. I am more confused now. I just started learning to create android apps and since a couple of months I have done nothing but reading every tutorial, every example, every article about android app that is there to read. I am under the impression while both look similar Android is different from Java ( especially classes) and that's why they use Dalvik instead of JVM. Now how come Java replaces Android? What has changed?

Rancher
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Java does not replace Android, or vice versa. Java is a programming language, whereas Android is a platform - which happens to use a programming language with the same language syntax and semantics as Java, but only partially the same class library, and a different binary class file format (hence the need for a different VM).

If you weren't aware of it, you may wish to learn about the Oracle_v._Google lawsuit.

Author
Android Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi La,