• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Port forwarding in C++ vs Java

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

I am a student who is writing two simple programs (one which sends some data from the user client to the other program, and one which takes that data and outputs it on the screen) for a class assignment. We were told to write the code in C or C++ using the socket.h and in.h files, but I got permission from the professor to write the program in Java instead, since I'm more familiar with the language and have used the Socket/ServerSocket classes for a previous class, as long as I get everything to work. It also served as a bit of a review for me, since I haven't tried networking in Java for a year or two. However, after writing my code, I recalled that, in order to connect a Socket to a ServerSocket across the internet, given the ServerSocket's IP address and port, we were told, in the previous class, to port forward from the server computer by fiddling around with the computer's router from outside the program; otherwise, the client could not connect to the server. I was able to get my code to work when connecting to localhost, but not to another computer across the internet running the server program. My current class's assignment made no references towards needing to port for