• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

using generics in mapper class

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am new to HADOOP as well as JAVA.
While I was looking into the "WordCount" problem, I was confused with the use of generics in the WordCountMapper Class.
The Class looks like:

I know that the Generics is used here to assign KEY VALUE pair for mapper input and output. But I want to know what is the advantage of using GENERICS for assigning KEY VALUE pairs.
Is this the only way to assign KEY VALUE pair for the mapper class. Please explain in details.

Thanks!

Greenhorn
Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Jone,

First and foremost reason is the signature of the Mapper class in Apache Hadoop appears with generics which 'technically' forces us to use these generics (either specify types in place of generic placeholders or continue using the generics as it is in the extended class as well):-