• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Is Guice/Dependency Injection really meant to be universal?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm new to dependency injection and started to study Google Guice. I get the IOC concepts and all that, and how to bind and inject dependencies. But what I'm trying to wrap my mind around is whether it is meant to be a universal design pattern for all applications (big and small), or only in testing-intensive environments.

I work on a small team of three people, and we build commercial Swing applications for about twelve internal users. We deal with a lot of complexity and rapid business changes, doing release cycles every two weeks. We have established our best practices for our needs with a huge emphasis on immutable class design.