• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Web.xml file is not created at the time of creating a new jsp in netbeans

Greenhorn
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello Experts!!!

I am new to jsp & Servlets and need help to understand below below behavior.

IDE used : NetBeans 8.0.2

When I was creating a new servlet in netbeans, I was getting a web.xml file in WEB-INF folder with servlet mapping and other details, on running that web project it works fine.

However when I create a new jsp file in a separate project just to print Hello Word, it does not create a web.xml file but still works fine. I am a bit confused why web.xml file is not created or what is the reason jsp ran without web.xml?.

Please help.!!!

Bartender
jQuery Netbeans IDE Eclipse IDE Firefox Browser MySQL Database Chrome Linux
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
If you are using the "@WebServlet" annotation, the web.xml is not required. But NetBeans usually creates a default web.xml when you create a new web project. Are you using "Java Web"/"Web Application" when you create the new project?

sourabh kanoongo
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thanks for your reply Kevin..!!!