• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Brand new project - should I begin it in Java ?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I've been programming for many years in MS technologies (C#) - Also done a few Linux and Mac apps using 'RealBasic' and recently an Android App using Android Studio/Java.

I'm now about to begin a brand new MAC OSX project and trying to decide what language to do it in.

Over the weekend I played around with Java in Netbeans and it really is quick and easy. Source code fully portable between Windows and Mac and the packaged executable just as portable. Amazing.

But I'm kind of put off the idea of Java because Apple have stopped shipping Java with their OS. Looking at other platforms even google seem to be moving away from Java with their new ChromeOS.

If I had existing Java applications I'd be happy to keep maintaining them - I wouldn't be rushing to port them to some other technology.

But should I be starting a brand new project in Java today ?

Thanks for your input guys.
)

Java Cowboy
Android Scala IntelliJ IDE Spring Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Ian Sa wrote:But I'm kind of put off the idea of Java because Apple have stopped shipping Java with their OS.