• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

How we design microservice application?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Good day,

I'm new to Microservice, may i know is there any good guidance on this topic and any sample code on this? I try google but most of the page mentioned on concept only..I'm interest on how service can communicate to another service ..

thanks ahead!

Author and all-around good cowpoke
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I found this quote:

the microservice architectural style is an approach to developing a single application as a suite of small services, each running in its own process and communicating with lightweight mechanisms, often an HTTP resource API.

This sounds to me like just another buzzword trying to get traction in programmer's minds.

Trying to create components which can be connected together in various ways has a long history in programming. Sort of a reaction to the problems of huge monolithic programs which contained so many complex inter-dependencies that the were really hard to understand, much less debug.

As an example, I once tried to maintain a Fortran program having 4000 lines in the main routine and only 400 in subroutines. Yuck.