• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Only the frame with frame name is visible..inside blank

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
so i started learning java gui yesterday! Especially swing! So is learning about event and handling event time!
the book am using says this code should display the frame and inside the frame the a list and at least the ok button...the code looks right..
but when i compile i only see the Frame with the frame name Event Object..inside the frame is all blank!
Can someone tell me why ?
I'm using eclipse ide.
thanks in advance!

Bartender
Android Mac OS X Firefox Browser Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to the Ranch.

You need to add the panel to the frame. You can that like

JFrame default layout manager is BorderLayout.

Since you set the layout for the JPanel to null, I don't know you how the table and button will show up, if it will show up. JPanel default layout manager is FlowLayout.

Bartender
Netbeans IDE Opera Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

K. Tsang wrote:Since you set the layout for the JPanel to null, I don't know you how the table and button will show up, if it will show up.