• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Mathematics required for 2d games in Java?

Ranch Hand
jQuery Google App Engine Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi, I want to develop basic 2D games in Java but I have no knowledge of maths. I always sucked at maths even in high school. Would you please tell me about the maths required for 2D java games ?
I know addition,subtraction, multiplication, division, percentage, basic set theory (union, intersection), addition and subtraction of matrices only.

lowercase baba
Chrome Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
all programming is math. That's because math isn't computations and calculations, but is instead problem solving and analysis of complicated stuff so you can break it down into simpler components. Math is about THINKING - and so is programming.

Having said that, and having never done any game development, I would imagine a good foundation in geometry and trigonometry would be vital. I could be wrong, but that's my guess.

Bobby Sharma
Ranch Hand
jQuery Google App Engine Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Yes, Fred.. I already kinda guessed 2D game programming requires a good math foundation. The more math you know, the better. I will start with co-ordinate geometry and then move to geometry and trigonometry.